Medical Research Council and University of Exeter

Our Body is a Planet

This film is the result of the MRC Centre for Medical Mycology’s exploratory artist’s residency with Devon-based artist Léonie Hampton of Still/Moving, in partnership with Arts and Culture, University of Exeter.

“This residency has been a deeply inspiring and enriching experience. A blend of horror and beauty grew as I learnt from the stories and images about fungi that the scientists shared with me. The film is truly a collaborative outcome that tries to capture the journey I was taken on. Thank you to everyone who contributed their thoughts, time and work to make this film come alive. “ Léonie

Launched at the Two Short Nights Film Festival at Exeter Phoenix on 3rd February 2022, the film was followed by a discussion between Léonie, Neil Gow, Professor of Microbiology at the University of Exeter and Sarah Campbell, Associate Director of Culture at the University of Exeter.

Since the initial screening, the film has been shown at a number of other venues, including:

  • Plymouth Arts Cinema, 3rd March 2022
  • Stroud Film Festival, 11th March 2022
  • The University of Plymouth, 17th May 2022
  • Creativity Week Geneva, 7th June 2022
  • Foto Forum Bolzano, 31st May to 2nd July 2022
  • Labocine August Issue, #79, The Body Festival, New York, August 2022 issue
  • Royal Society of Edinburgh’s Curious Festival, August 2022
  • University of Exeter, annual meeting of the British Society for Medical Mycology (BSMM), 4th September 2022
  • Cast, Cornwall, 6th September 2022
  • University of Plymouth, 2nd November 2022

This project was funded by the Medical Research Council Centre for Medical Mycology at the University of Exeter (MR/N006364/2) and the Wellcome Trust Institutional Strategic Support Award (WT105618MA).

Watch the post-screening discussion below:

The microscopic imaging in this film were sourced from the following:

Nick Read & Patrick Hickey

Nick Read & Patrick Hickey

Nick Read

Nick Read

Louise Walker

Jorge Amich Elias

Alessandra da Silva Dantas

Alberto Muñoz Rodriguez

Sergio Moreno-Velásquez

Darren Thomson 10.1016/j.fgb.2016.02.001

Tina Bedekovic

Fiona Rudkin

Leanne Lewis

Gordon Brown

Alistair Brown  10.1073/pnas.2020484118

Can Zhao


Additional microscopic images provided by:

Patrick Hickey, Natasha Motsi, Nick Read, Gabriela Roca, Alessandra da Silva Dantas, Darren Thomson